Contact Us

Gilpin County Building Locations, Departments & Officials

COUNTY COMMISSIONERS / COUNTY MANAGER'S OFFICE
203 Eureka Street, 2nd Floor
P.O. Box 366, Central City, CO 80427
Phone: 303-582-5214
Fax: 303-582-5440
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday
Gilpin County Commissioners
District 1 - Ron Engels, rengels@gilpincounty.org
District 2 - Linda Isenhart, lisenhart@gilpincounty.org
District 3 - Gail Watson, gwatson@gilpincounty.org
County Manager -  Abel Montoya, amontoya@gilpincounty.org
Deputy Clerk to the Board - Sharon Cate, scate@gilpincounty.org
Business Analyst - Jaime Tirado, jtirado@gilpincounty.org
general e-mail address - pubcomment@gilpincounty.org
back to top

ASSESSOR
203 Eureka Street, 1st Floor
P.O. Box 338, Central City, CO 80427
Phone: 303-582-5451
Fax: 303-565-1796
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday (Appointment Only)
County Assessor - Anne Schafer, aschafer@gilpincounty.org
general email address for all information - assessor@gilpincounty.org
back to top

CLERK AND RECORDER
203 Eureka Street, 1st Floor
P.O. Box 429, Central City, CO 80427
Phone: 303-582-5321
Fax: 303-565-1797
Hours: 8:00 to 4:30, Monday through Friday (Appointment Only)
County Clerk - Sahari McCormick, smccormick@gilpincounty.org
general e-mail address - clerkandrecorder@gilpincounty.org
Election e-mail address - elections@gilpincounty.org
Motor Vehicle e-mail address - motorv@gilpincounty.org
Recordings e-mail address -recordings@gilpincounty.org
website -gilpincounty.org/departments/clerk_and_recorder_voting_and_elections
back to top

COMBINED COURTS
The courts are located in the Justice Center are State of Colorado Offices. Please call 303-582-5522 for information.
back to top

COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT (Building/Planning/Zoning)
203 Eureka Street, 3rd Floor
P.O. Box 661, Central City, CO 80427
Phone: 303-582-5831
Fax: 303-565-1796
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday
Community Development Director - Stephen Strohminger
e-mail address - sstrohminger@gilpincounty.org
County Planner, Office Manager - Tami Archer
e-mail address - tarcher@gilpincounty.org 
web site - http://www.gilpincounty.org/cms/one.aspx?portalid=9285259&pageid=11073750
FOR ENVIRONMENTAL INFORMATION PLEASE GO TO PUBLIC HEALTH SITE.
Go There
back to top

CORONER
P.O. Box 333, Central City, CO 80427
Office Phone: 303-515-4333
Cell Phone and Best Contact Number: 303-435-7061
Coroner - Zane Laubhan
e-mail address - zanel@gilpincounty.org
back to top

CSU EXTENSION
230 Norton Drive, Black Hawk, CO 80422 (Located at the Exhibit Building at fairgrounds)
Phone: 303-582-9106
Fax: 303-582-5062
Hours: Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 1:30 p.m., Monday through Friday
Agent hours are 8:30 am - 4:30 pm, however please note that agent is often in the field.
Extension Agent- Jennifer Cook
e-mail address - jennifer.cook@colostate.edu
website - www.extension.colostate.edu/gilpin
back to top

GILPIN COUNTY EMERGENCY SERVICES
2960 Dory Hill Road, Ste 300, room 222 Black Hawk, CO 80422
Phone: 720-536-2853
back to top

FACILITIES MAINTENANCE DEPARTMENT - currently a division of Infrastructure and Development Services
255 Braecher Park Rd. , Black Hawk, CO 80422
Phone: 303-582-5004
Maintenance Supervisor - Dirk Matthews
Phone: 
303-515-4324
Fax: 303-951-3675
e-mail address - dmatthews@gilpincounty.org
back to top

PEOPLE, CULTURE AND FINANCE
P.O. Box 366, Central City, CO 80427
495 Apex Valley Road, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Phone: 303-951-3671
Fax: 303-951-3675
Hours: Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday
People, Culture and Finance Director- Lori Schrayer
e-mail address - lschrayer@gilpincounty.org
Finance Director
- Clorinda Smith
e-mail address - csmith@gilpincounty.org
Finance Clerk - Jane Billings
e-mail address - gilpinfinance@gilpincounty.org
back to top

HUMAN SERVICES
2960 Dory Hill Road, Suite 100, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Phone: 303-582-5444
Fax: 303-582-5798
Human Services Director - Laura Solomon
e-mail address - lsolomon@gilpincounty.org
back to top

LIBRARY
15131 Highway 119
Black Hawk CO 80422
Phone: 303-582-5777
Fax: 303-582-3938
Closed Sunday & Monday
Library Director - Michael Carlson
web page - http://gilpinlibrary.org
general e-mail address - gilpinlib@gilpincounty.org
back to top

PUBLIC HEALTH AGENCY
101 Norton Drive, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Phone: 303-582-5803
Fax: 303-582-9063
Public Health Director- Mark B. Johnson, MD
Gilpin County Public Health Coordinator -Bonnie Albrecht, 303-582-5803 ext.13
general email address - gilpinph@gilpincounty.org
back to top

INFRASTRUCTURE AND DEVELOPMENT SERVICES
255 Braecher Park Rd., Black Hawk, CO 80422
gcroads@gilpincounty.org
Phone: 303-582-5004
Fax: 303-582-3291
Infrastructure Deputy Director- Dave Rich
e-mail address - drich@gilpincounty.org
Office Hours: Office closed at this time,  answering machine will answer during off-hours.
back to top

SHERIFF/JAIL/DISPATCH
SHERIFF ADMINISTRATION
2960 Dory Hill Road, Suite 300, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Phone: 303-582-1060
Fax: 303-582-3813
TTY/TDD Machine - 303-582-0745
Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday
Sheriff Kevin Armstrong
e-mail address - karmstrong@gilpincounty.org
Undersheriff Tonia Kapke
e-mail address - kapke@gilpincounty.org
Administrative Services Coordinator- Cherokee Blake
e-mail address - cblake@gilpincounty.org
general e-mail address - sheriff@gilpincounty.org
web page - http://co.gilpin.co.us/Sheriff/sheriffindex.htm
JAIL
2960 Dory Hill Road, Suite 350, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Phone: 303-582-3576
Fax: 303-582-3574Visiting Hours:
Saturday and Sunday - 9:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Tuesday - 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
Jail Administration- Division Chief Sean Wheeler
e-mail address - swheeler@gilpincounty.org
DISPATCH
2960 Dory Hill Road, Suite 300, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Emergency - 9 1 1
Non-emergency - 303-582-5500
Hours: 24 Hour Coverage
Dispatch Supervisor - Lyssa Gray, lgray@gilpincounty.org
general e-mail address - gcdispatch@gilpincounty.org
VICTIM SERVICES
2960 Dory Hill Road, Suite 300, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Victim Services Coordinator- Shannon Arrington
e-mail address - sarrington@gilpincounty.org
Office - 303-582-5926, Fax: 582-6018
back to top

TRASH TRANSFER STATION
physical - 278 Jankowski Drive, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Click here for trash site details and rates.
Phone: For more information please call 303-582-5004 weekdays between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m.
back to top

TREASURER
203 Eureka Street, 1st Floor
P.O. Box 368, Central City, CO 80427
Office: - 303-582-5222
Fax: 303-582-3086
Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday
Treasurer: Mary Lorenz, mlorenz@gilpincounty.org
general e-mail address - gctreasurer@gilpincounty.org
back to top

VETERAN SERVICE OFFICE
Gilpin Justice Center
2960 Dory Hill Road, Suite 100, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Office: 303-582-5444 ext 1103
back to top

Gilpin County | All Rights Reserved | Powered by CivicLive | © 2020 Intrado Corporation.