Marriage/Civil Unions

We are open by appointment only. To make an appointment, please click HERE


Where and when can a license be obtained in Gilpin County, Colorado?


On March 26, 2020 Governor Polis signed Executive Order D 2020 014 allowing counties to issue a marriage license without parties present for 30 days (for Colorado residents only). Executive Order is now extended until July 27, 2020.  
To obtain a marriage license (for Colorado residents only), complete the form below in its entirety, and mail it to PO Box 429, Central City, CO 80427 with clear copies of your ID and a check for $30 made out to Gilpin County Clerk and Recorder.  We will call you when we receive it and will then issue the license.
Non-Colorado residents can make an appointment on line to come in to get a license. 
Application for Marriage license

Also available is a Common Law Affidavit for completion for some insurance purposes. You can file the form by mailing it to our office with a check for $13 made out to Gilpin County Clerk and Recorder.
Form can be found here: Common Law Affidavit

  • Hours: Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
  • Gilpin County Old Courthouse, 203 Eureka Street, Central City, CO 80427

How to Apply

  • It is recommended that both parties be present to apply for the marriage license. However, if this is not a possibility, one party must appear with a completed and notarized affidavit as well as identification for the absent party. Party must be in office for application no later than 4:15 p.m.
  • A couple already married may obtain a license by stating that they are married to each other.
  • Applicants for a marriage license do not have to be Colorado residents.
  • The marriage license must be used in the State of Colorado.
  • If divorced, the individual will need to provide the following information:
    • Date
    • Place
    • Court where the final decree was granted

Identification

Legal identification for proof of age is required. All forms of identification must be verifiable in the United States. The following are acceptable:

  • Driver’s License
  • Birth Certificate (Original or Certified Copy)
  • Military I.D.
  • Valid Passport
  • State Issued Identification

The Clerk and Recorder's office will also request the following information:

  • Social Security Number
  • Place of birth for both applicants
  • Names of both parents for both applicants
  • Address of both parents for both applicants

In Colorado a Blood Test is NOT required!

Identification NOT Accepted

  • Baptismal Certificates
  • Mexican Consular I.D. (Matricula Consular)

Fees

The fee to obtain a marriage license is $30.00. Your license may be used immediately within the State of Colorado and is valid for 30 days from the date of issue. You may purchase your license at any of the Clerk and Recorder's offices in Colorado.

For additional information you may call the Clerk and Recorder’s office at (303) 582-5321.

Judges may be contacted through Gilpin County Combined Courts at (303) 582-5522.

Marriage Solemnization

Marriages may be solemnized by the following people:

  • Judges;
  • Retired Judges;
  • Magistrates;
  • Ordained Minister;
  • Indian Tribe Officials and Clergy;
  • The Couple Themselves.

The person who does solemnize the marriage must forward the marriage certificate to the County Clerk and Recorder’s office within sixty (60) days after the marriage.

Prohibitions

Couples are prohibited from marrying in the following cases:

  • When one of the parties is still married to another person;
  • Brother and Sister;
  • Uncle and Niece (Whether the relationship is by half or whole blood);
  • Aunt and Nephew (Whether the relationship is by half or whole blood).

Parental Consent

Legal age without parental consent is 18 for both parties involved.

If either of the parties are under the age of 18 and over the age of 16, written and notarized consent signed by both parents (or parent having legal custody), or legal guardian is required.

If either of the parties are under the age of 16, a Judicial Court Order from the court jurisdiction is required.

Statewide Index of Marriages and Dis-solutions

To research records from 1975 to current - within 6 months go to http://www.cdphe.state.co.us.

Marriage Heirloom Certificate

The Marriage Heirloom Certificate is now available at the State Vital Records Office. For additional information please review the Marriage Heirloom Certificate bulletin.

 

Gilpin County | All Rights Reserved | Powered by CivicLive | © 2020 Intrado Corporation.